Department Approved Trainings for Waiver Provider Qualification Requirements


The following trainings and associated links meet the requirements described in the ID/A waivers provider qualifications for:

“Department approved training on the common health conditions that may be associated with preventable deaths in people with an intellectual or developmental disability”

I.  Trainings available through Health Care Quality Units (No cost)

A.  Southwest/KEPRO

- Link:

- Details:  Staff must complete the online course titled “The Fatal Five”. 

B.  Eastern PA Health Care Quality Unit

- Link:

- Details:  Staff must complete one of the following:

§  The Fatal Five course that is available as a web-based training on the website (must register to access site); 

§  Attend a live training session via Zoom on a quarterly basis through the syllabus schedule (also listed on website); or

§  Attend a live training with a HCQU nurse when requested by the provider agency for multiple staff.  This live training will be presented directly for that agency at a time that is convenient for them.


C.  Western/Northwestern/Milestone

- Link:  Milestone Centers, Inc. | Centers for People with Developmental & Behavioral Health Challenges (

- Details: Staff must complete all of the following online modules that are part of the Fatal 5 Series

§  Aspiration

§  Constipation

§  Dehydration

§  Seizures

§  Sepsis


D.  South Central PA Health Care Quality Unit

- Link:

- Details: Staff must complete the web-based training titled “Fatal Five”


II.  Other trainings that meet Provider Qualification Requirements:

A.      IntellectAbility’s online courses 

- Links:

- Details:  Staff must complete one of the trainings listed

B.      Relias online course

- Details: Staff must complete the training titled “The Fatal Five”